Eco Geste

Close

The Tahia

The Tahia

Architecture: Gilles Vaton

Shipyard: Gamelin (La Rochelle)

Length: 26 m

Width: 5.40 m

Draught: 4.60 m

Starting weight: 30 t

Ballast in the keel: 13 t

Mast: 31 m

Mainsail: 180 m2

Genoa:180 m2

Jib: 85 m2

Staysail: 30 m2

Light wind spinnaker: 450 m2

Heavy weather spinnaker: 350 m2

Ballast: 3.5 t

Watertight bulkheads: 4

Keel fin: 2.5 t + 0.3 t of diesel

The Foundation sends its Little Adventurers sailing on the famous Tahia. This immense monohull is the former L’Oréal Paris, on which Maud sailed round the world against prevailing currents in five months (2006-2007), setting off from and returning to the island of Réunion.

31 m high

The 31-metre high carbon mast symbolises the values of the Foundation. During her last trip round the world, Maud had to face a terrible dismasting, which she overcame after days of relentless work. Never give up, is the message.

The cabin

Each part of Tahia has been created with children in mind. After the round-the-world tour, the boat was refitted for the Foundation. The cabin is a cocoon, a warm living space where Maud shares her experiences and explains the ways of the sea to her crew in short trousers.

" tahia "

Tahia is the Marquesan name children chose for the boat – it means ‘princess who dances on the waves’ and refers to Maud’s personal history. The Polynesian people gave her this nickname when she finished rowing across the Pacific in 2005. Tahia evokes both a dream and the possibility of achieving it, as well the link between land and sea, threatened by rising water levels and global warming.

A solid boat

Tahia is an aluminium monohull 26 metres long and weighing over 30 metric tons – providing safe sailing conditions and perfectly suited to having children aboard. Tahia is respected throughout the seafaring world, having proving herself over thousands of nautical miles in all the planet’s seas. She is a fine symbol of the perseverance and tenacity shown by the Foundation in preserving the oceans and coastlines.

Eco Geste

Close

Le voilier Tahia

Le voilier Tahia

Architecture : Gilles Vaton

Chantier : Gamelin (La Rochelle)

Longueur : 26 m

Largeur : 5,40 m

Tirant d'eau : 4,60 m

Poids de départ : 30 t

Lest : 13 t

Mât : 31 m

Voiture GV : 180 m2

Génois :180 m2

Solent : 85 m2

Trinquette : 30 m2

Spi léger : 450 m2

Spi lourd : 350 m2

Ballast : 3,5 t

Cloisons étanches : 4

Voile de quille : 2,5 t + 0,3 t de gazole


La Maud Fontenoy Foundation fait naviguer ses Petits Aventuriers sur le célèbre voilier Tahia.

Cet immense monocoque est l'ancien L'Oréal Paris sur lequel Maud Fontenoy a réussi en 2006/2007, après 5 mois d'effort, le tour du monde à contre-courant, en solitaire et sans assistance, au départ et à l'arrivée de l'île de la Réunion.
 

31 m de haut

Un mât de 31 m construit en carbonne qui illustre bien les valeurs que porte haut la Maud Fontenoy Foundation. En effet, lors de son dernier tour du monde, Maud Fontenoy a dû faire face à un terrible démâtage dont elle s'est finalement sortie après des jours et des jours de travail acharné. Ne jamais baisser les bras, voilà ce que rappelle aux enfants ce gigantesque gréement.

La cabine

Tout sur Tahia a été pensé pour accueillir des enfants. Après le tour du monde à contre-courant, le bateau a été réaménagé dans la perspective de la Maud Fontenoy Foundation. La cabine est un cocon, un lieu de vie chaleureux où Maud raconte ses expériences, décrypte le fonctionnement des océans à ses équipiers en culottes courtes.
 

" tahia "

Tahia est le le nom marquisien que lui ont choisi les enfants, cela signifie "la princesse qui danse sur les vagues". Ce choix est un clin d'oeil à l'histoire personnelle de Maud. Les polynésiens lui avaient donné ce surnom lorsqu'elle avait bouclé sa traversée du Pacifique à la rame en 2005. Tahia évoque un rêve à atteindre et la possibilité de le réaliser, mais aussi une terre liée à la mer, directement menacée par la montée des eaux et le réchauffement climatique.
 

Un bateau solide

Tahia est un monocoque de 26 m en aluminium, pesant plus de 30 tonnes. Cela garantit des conditions de navigation sécurisantes et parfaitement adaptées à l'accueil d'enfants à bord. Tahia est un bateau respecté dans le monde des marins, qui a fait ses preuves au cours des milliers de milles nautiques sur toutes les mers du globe. Un beau symbole de la persévérance et de la ténacité que nécessite le combat de la Maud Fontenoy Foundation pour défendre les océans et le littoral.

 

Close